About Our School

Within a safe and nurturing environment, the curriculum, instruction, and resources provided will allow our students to demonstrate exceptional achievement and increased knowledge in all subject areas each year and foster an ability to work cooperatively within a diverse culture to become productive citizens.

 Eakin Elementary School has served the students of Shelbyville and Bedford County as a public elementary school from 1957 to the present. Eakin's original name was Central Elementary School. The name was changed to honor Mr. Deery Eakin, a long-time Bedford County educator and former principal of Central Elementary School. Eakin's former principals are: Don Shelton, Don Embry, Charles "Bubba" Rose, Deborah Boyd, Janice Womble, Julie Bennett, and Dulcie Davis.  Kathy Reed became the principal of Eakin in 2022.

Vision Statement

All students will achieve their potential regardless of race, economic background, or language.